Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-2010, 02:43 PM   #46
Rinzwind
Connoisseur
Rinzwind began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 96
Karma: 16
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Device: Kindle 3G UK 3.03
Quote:
Originally Posted by montalex View Post
The confusion was with the letters (D, J, etc.) I don't have letters in my Duokan menus, I have numbers and symbols. Once you get it set to English, there's no problem.

Everything else worked for install.
We blame you for not telling us you another kindle than a k3


flip: well it is not a big deal. I can switch back to normal fw if I need wifi.

Oh is there a shortcut to start duokan from the old FW? Or is that only possible with a reboot and quickly choosing Q?
Rinzwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:01 PM   #47
Rinzwind
Connoisseur
Rinzwind began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 96
Karma: 16
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Device: Kindle 3G UK 3.03
I found the text errors in...

/DK_System/system/Profiles/FontInfo_yw.txt

FontInfo_yw.txt:Replace Conectting...
FontInfo_yw.txt: Conectting...
FontInfo_yw.txt:Conecting...

FYI for anyone else experiencing problems with WIFI:
Regarding wireless: duokan turns wifi OFF. So when I go back to original fw wireless is OFF but the Kindle setting thinks it is ON. So it requires me to "turn wireless off, turn wireless on" to get connected.
It got me puzzled for a minute or 2

Last edited by Rinzwind; 11-06-2010 at 03:09 PM.
Rinzwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:01 PM   #48
flipkick
Member
flipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 502
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: Kindle 3
i've also added the installation instructions for Kindle 3 to my blog entry at http://flip.netzbeben.de/2010/11/duo...ish-gui-today/

Last edited by flipkick; 11-06-2010 at 03:05 PM.
flipkick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:17 PM   #49
Rinzwind
Connoisseur
Rinzwind began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 96
Karma: 16
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Device: Kindle 3G UK 3.03
flip: point 8 ... Some kindles show digits with duokan.

YES! I managed to screw myself.
For some weird reason my FontInfo_yw.txt ended up EMPTY after I change the "connection" text errors.
Reinstalling

Last edited by Rinzwind; 11-06-2010 at 03:20 PM.
Rinzwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:32 PM   #50
flipkick
Member
flipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 502
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: Kindle 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rinzwind View Post
flip: point 8 ... Some kindles show digits with duokan.
Thanks, i've added this info for Kindle 2.
flipkick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:34 PM   #51
FF2
Wizard
FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.FF2 ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 1,111
Karma: 1025784
Join Date: Oct 2010
Device: WiFi Kindle3
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipkick View Post
this is the very first english version without any english documentation and this version is also a beta version, so this is for adventurers only
Thanks for the info and for YOUR webpage link (further in this thread).

I may give it a try a bit later today (rainy, anyway)
FF2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:40 PM   #52
Rinzwind
Connoisseur
Rinzwind began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 96
Karma: 16
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Device: Kindle 3G UK 3.03
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipkick View Post
Thanks, i've added this info for Kindle 2.
Another tip that might help clear some confusion:
menu, settings, other (page 3), support old system: yes
shows your original files and folders.


And I played a bit with the fonts. Helvetica Neue LT 75 Kindle with CLEAR and SMALL seems to be best to me. What is anyone else his/her favourite?
I now have up to L. on the display btw.

Oh and I think I know why they used letters for the k3: we got a keyboard. Pressing a letters opens the corresponding ebook. I bet that on the k2 you do not have a keyboard so you can use digits to open the ebook
(or did everyone else figure this out already )


--> dictionary does not work. I get a "no dictionairy" when I try to open 1.
anyone an idea on fixing this?

Another one:
/DK_System/system/Profiles/FontInfo_yw.txt
Change 1st line "Duokan User" to your name and it will display it at the top.
I changed it to "Duokan - Wim"

Last edited by Rinzwind; 11-06-2010 at 03:51 PM.
Rinzwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:45 PM   #53
FethryDuck
Addict
FethryDuck will become famous soon enoughFethryDuck will become famous soon enoughFethryDuck will become famous soon enoughFethryDuck will become famous soon enoughFethryDuck will become famous soon enoughFethryDuck will become famous soon enough
 
FethryDuck's Avatar
 
Posts: 281
Karma: 520
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: sometimes Norway, planet Earth
Device: Kindle3, DXG
nice

Pleased that my upload kicked off some activity - as now I am sitting here with a broken arm and cannot contribute much. When I like to say this or that - someone step in. But I only need one arm to do this:
FethryDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 03:49 PM   #54
flipkick
Member
flipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enoughflipkick will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 502
Join Date: Nov 2010
Device: Kindle 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rinzwind View Post
Another tip that might help clear some confusion:
menu, settings, other (page 3), support old system: yes
shows your original files and folders.

Oh and I think I know why they used letters for the k3: we got a keyboard. Pressing a letters opens the corresponding ebook. I bet that on the k2 you do not have a keyboard so you can use digits to open the ebook
(or did everyone else figure this out already )
Oh nice, *adding to my blog*. I've also added a link to this thread and I'll publish some "screenshots".

I think K2 has a keyboard, too.

And i just tried to connect via WIFI, it also failed for me and a minute after it, my Kindle hung up
flipkick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:03 PM   #55
Rinzwind
Connoisseur
Rinzwind began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 96
Karma: 16
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Device: Kindle 3G UK 3.03
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipkick View Post
Oh nice, *adding to my blog*. I've also added a link to this thread and I'll publish some "screenshots".

I think K2 has a keyboard, too.

And i just tried to connect via WIFI, it also failed for me and a minute after it, my Kindle hung up
I made quite some changed to /DK_System/system/Profiles/FontInfo_yw.txt
When I am pleased I will attach it


Filp&refresh -> Flip&refresh
pw is epty -> Password is empty
(all pw -> password)
press"SYM"to input symbol -> press "SYM" to input symbol
"Aa"operate list
"Aa"operate player
After 5s,system will restart.
(all 3: added a space).

In the translation file I also see references to other languages. It also includes Dutch and German... so we should be able to setup a Dutch/German language.

I have added my FontInfo_yw.txt with the name FontInfo_yw.v1.txt
Attached Files
File Type: txt FontInfo_yw.v1.txt (4.2 KB, 267 views)
Rinzwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:20 PM   #56
montalex
Addict
montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 391
Karma: 517398
Join Date: Mar 2010
Device: Kindle 2i, Kindle Keyboard 3G
Duoh! Of course -- Kindle 2 has a number row on the keyboard, and Kindle 3 does not, thus the letters on the Kindle 3 menu.

Edit: updated my post #28 clarify instructions (which come from others, for the most part!)

Last edited by montalex; 11-06-2010 at 04:28 PM.
montalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:52 PM   #57
montalex
Addict
montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 391
Karma: 517398
Join Date: Mar 2010
Device: Kindle 2i, Kindle Keyboard 3G
I can't figure out how to turn on 3G! I'm on Kindle2I
montalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:59 PM   #58
Rinzwind
Connoisseur
Rinzwind began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 96
Karma: 16
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Device: Kindle 3G UK 3.03
Quote:
Originally Posted by montalex View Post
I can't figure out how to turn on 3G! I'm on Kindle2I
I have yet to get wifi working
wpa tkip 39 letter password.
It keeps failing...

But it is a beta
Rinzwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 05:03 PM   #59
montalex
Addict
montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.montalex ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 391
Karma: 517398
Join Date: Mar 2010
Device: Kindle 2i, Kindle Keyboard 3G
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rinzwind View Post
I have yet to get wifi working
wpa tkip 39 letter password.
It keeps failing...

But it is a beta
I understand that one of the motivations for creating Duokan was to make use of the browser. There must be a way to turn on 3G, but I've been all through the settings. Must be a hot key thing.
montalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 05:08 PM   #60
Rinzwind
Connoisseur
Rinzwind began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 96
Karma: 16
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Netherlands
Device: Kindle 3G UK 3.03
== I do not know how to get to the browser...
Can not get wifi/3g to do anything yet

== duokan reboot:
I choose Q.
I then get 7 black blocks and the kindle flashes 5 or 6 times and goes up to 7 blocks and reboots. Ends up back at the screen where I need to press Q and the action repeats.

If I do not press Q I end up in the org. fw.

Now what

edit: FontInfo_yw.txt was empty again! I made a backup last time so...
Hmm not good
edit 2: works again.

== Question: does anyone know what the 3rd option is in the DK menu?

Last edited by Rinzwind; 11-06-2010 at 05:19 PM.
Rinzwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
English-English Dictionary for 301 LevAizik PocketBook 6 12-03-2013 10:42 PM
Macro: Old English to New english ProDigit Workshop 19 09-15-2011 11:10 PM
PB302 - How to replace English->Russian dictionary with English only (with defin.)? guyanonymous PocketBook 29 08-03-2010 07:05 PM
Best way to sort files? Meowchi Sony Reader 6 09-23-2009 05:05 PM
Hi there and I am sort of new here! PhoneGuy Introduce Yourself 4 07-02-2008 10:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.