Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2010, 02:35 PM   #1
fueg0
Junior Member
fueg0 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2010
Device: Kindle 3
Error: No Internet connection

While trying to fetch news, on Windows version of Calibre, I always get this
"ERROR: No internet connection: Cannot download news as no internet connection is active"

But, yes the connection is ON.
Is there any restriction about the ports used to download the news feeds?

Sys: WinXP SP3. No software firewall runing. Router allowing ALL outgoing connections.

Thanks
fueg0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 03:05 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,948
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
That error has nothing to do with ports. Basically, windows is telling calibre that no internet connection is available. Why it is doing so, I'm not sure, maybe someone more knowledgeable about windows can help.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 03:24 PM   #3
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,450
Karma: 831552
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Check your proxy settings. Make sure that you configure IE correctly so that it can see the internet, because calibre uses IE's (not firefox's) proxy settings.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 03:29 PM   #4
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,948
Karma: 5036099
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
@chaley: I doubt this is proxy related, the is the InternetGetConnectedState Win32 function returning that there is no internet connection.
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 03:32 AM   #5
fueg0
Junior Member
fueg0 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2010
Device: Kindle 3
There is no proxy configured and the Internet works fine (I can even connect to my computer using Teamviewer).
So, is there a way to debug this app and see what is happening, to solve the problem?
Thanks

Last edited by fueg0; 10-07-2010 at 03:34 AM. Reason: spelling
fueg0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:32 AM   #6
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,450
Karma: 831552
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Make sure you don't have a VPN turned on. Beyond that, I have no further ideas. Perhaps someone else will.
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 05:01 AM   #7
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
InternetGetConnectedState seems to be a somewhat petulant beast. Some research in the Microsoft knowledge base and the vast rest of the net, while not divulging the excact method used by the function to determine connection, implied that the results could be vastly different depending on the version of Internet Explorer on your system. I found this entry, which might be of some relevance. You might want to check the default gateway as suggested in the knowledge base article above.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:38 PM   #8
fueg0
Junior Member
fueg0 began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Oct 2010
Device: Kindle 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manichean View Post
InternetGetConnectedState seems to be a somewhat petulant beast. Some research in the Microsoft knowledge base and the vast rest of the net, while not divulging the excact method used by the function to determine connection, implied that the results could be vastly different depending on the version of Internet Explorer on your system. I found this entry, which might be of some relevance. You might want to check the default gateway as suggested in the knowledge base article above.
Thanks. The problem is here, alright.
I'm still getting the error even if the LAN connection is working. I'm investigating the problem but it's a Windows API bug.

I'll let you know how I fixed it, ASAP as I'm still trying some tricks to fix it.

Cheers
fueg0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:58 PM   #9
Manichean
Wizard
Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!Manichean My eyes! My eyes! The light is just too bright!
 
Manichean's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,130
Karma: 80446
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Device: Cybook Gen3
Good luck.
Manichean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 04:02 AM   #10
chaley
"chaley", not "charley"
chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.chaley ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
Posts: 5,450
Karma: 831552
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Device: Many android devices
Quote:
Originally Posted by fueg0 View Post
Thanks. The problem is here, alright.
I'm still getting the error even if the LAN connection is working. I'm investigating the problem but it's a Windows API bug.

I'll let you know how I fixed it, ASAP as I'm still trying some tricks to fix it.
Make sure that you don't have any auto-connection options set up in IE (connections tab). The API looks at these, and will report failure if the connection isn't present.

As Manichean said, good luck!
chaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connection, error, internet, windows xp, windowsxp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Old Thread] ubuntu 0.6.46 ERROR: No internet connection bigreat Calibre 16 04-09-2013 06:03 PM
ERROR: No internet connection nicois Calibre 3 09-20-2010 11:07 AM
Wireless internet connection frustrating IDS connection Socrates iRex 8 10-21-2009 12:46 PM
Kindle Dx Internet Connection salina Amazon Kindle 5 09-17-2009 12:02 PM
Internet connection sharing ragdoll iRex 0 02-12-2008 06:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 PM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.