Register Guidelines E-Books Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Amazon Kindle > Kindle Developer's Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-08-2010, 08:45 AM   #31
Dibblah
Member
Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.Dibblah is not intimidated by interfenestral monkeys.
 
Posts: 15
Karma: 26592
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: Kindle 3
I wonder if the obvious reason for this is that Wifi versions are less locked down than 3G?

Cheers,

Allan.
Dibblah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 08:50 AM   #32
test011
Connoisseur
test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.
 
Posts: 65
Karma: 20728
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: K2i, K3(B006), KT(WiFi)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dibblah View Post
I wonder if the obvious reason for this is that Wifi versions are less locked down than 3G?

Cheers,

Allan.
But, it seems porkupan's kindle3 is a WiFi version, and he can't do ~exec.
test011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 08:56 AM   #33
porkupan
Fanatic
porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
porkupan's Avatar
 
Posts: 554
Karma: 1057213
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Eastern U.S.
Device: Sony Reader
ecostin's is 3G. Just tried on the same version - don't work. A plausible explanation may be that as part of the initialization and initial registration process in-house the test files are normally deleted. In this case the test files failed to be removed for some reason and stayed in the unit (perhaps the tester forgot to execute a cleanup command). And it so happened that the owner of this unit actually knew what to do with his treasure, which would have been quite unlikely.
porkupan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 08:59 AM   #34
DiapDealer
Grand Sorcerer
DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DiapDealer's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,022
Karma: 40855212
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
But the OP's serial number (B006) implies that his is a Wifi+3G version. I would compare his firmware revision with ones that are confirmed NOT working.
DiapDealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 09:31 AM   #35
porkupan
Fanatic
porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
porkupan's Avatar
 
Posts: 554
Karma: 1057213
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Eastern U.S.
Device: Sony Reader
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiapDealer View Post
But the OP's serial number (B006) implies that his is a Wifi+3G version. I would compare his firmware revision with ones that are confirmed NOT working.
I have tested the ;debugOn/~exec sequence on the same model (B006) with the same FW level. Doesn't work.

I have both a WiFi (B008) and WiFi+3G (B006) models to test with. The command are accepted, but no on-screen output is produced.

Actually, I suspect that if ecostin tries to do a factory reset to his Kindle (Settings->Reset your Kindle), his magic powers will likely disappear as well.

Last edited by porkupan; 09-08-2010 at 09:40 AM.
porkupan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 09:39 AM   #36
spacemonkey
Enthusiast
spacemonkey doesn't litterspacemonkey doesn't litter
 
Posts: 47
Karma: 120
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: kindle 3 wifi
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecostin View Post
~exec uname -a

Linux kindle 2.2.26-rt-lab126 #5 PREEMPT RT Sat Jul 31 01:09:00 PTD 2010 armv6l unknown

...
Mine definitely doesn't run exec's then, it's definitely in debug mode as I can ~help etc, however doing any exec command just refreshes the screen with no output shown, so for instance I can't execute the "uname -a" to determine if my Linux matches (which it presumably doesn't).

I wonder if the lab in in your linux relates to a lab build rather than general release. You don't happen to be one of the people amazon approached to be an early tester of the new "no freezing" firmware?
spacemonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 09:58 AM   #37
porkupan
Fanatic
porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
porkupan's Avatar
 
Posts: 554
Karma: 1057213
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Eastern U.S.
Device: Sony Reader
ecostin,

Before you attempt to do any factory reset, would you be able to archive the contents of the /test directory off your K3? I am sure many people would like to take a look at that.
porkupan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 10:03 AM   #38
pchrist7
Addict
pchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animalspchrist7 is kind to children and small, furry animals
 
pchrist7's Avatar
 
Posts: 385
Karma: 6514
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denmark
Device: Kindle 3 3G+Wifi
How on earth do you get ;debugOn to work ?
Please help out a newbie.
Thanx
pchrist7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 10:49 AM   #39
spacemonkey
Enthusiast
spacemonkey doesn't litterspacemonkey doesn't litter
 
Posts: 47
Karma: 120
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: kindle 3 wifi
Quote:
Originally Posted by pchrist7 View Post
How on earth do you get ;debugOn to work ?
Please help out a newbie.
Thanx
On the home screen, press any keyboard key so the search box comes up. Delete the letter you pressed, then hit "sym" and pick the ";" symbol, type debugOn, press enter.

So your search box will contain the command ";debugOn" the same goes for how to enter any of the other command discussed here, although it is likely you will be in the same boat that all of us except ecostin seem to be in, where we can't actually have fun
spacemonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 10:58 AM   #40
markatlnk
Member
markatlnk began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 12
Karma: 10
Join Date: Aug 2010
Device: kindle 3
That is interesting, I have sn B006A and sw 515460094 and after ;debugOn the ~help works, but ~exec ls does nothing. What else could be different?

Mark
markatlnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 11:18 AM   #41
DiapDealer
Grand Sorcerer
DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DiapDealer ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DiapDealer's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,022
Karma: 40855212
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
Quote:
You don't happen to be one of the people amazon approached to be an early tester of the new "no freezing" firmware?
If so, it would probably be extremely handy if a new, friendly beta tester could manage to 'trap' that .bin package before it installs and make it available.
DiapDealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 11:36 AM   #42
odfi
Junior Member
odfi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: kindle 3
I have a B008A (firmware 515460094)
~help works but not exec.
on mine ~memInfo and ~changeLocale give result too..

but I can't figure how to get result with ~exec

I also tried things from this page : http://igorsk.blogspot.com/
like :
;dumpMessages

which works, and dump current debug log into the "documents" directory (I will read the dumpMessages more carefully)

I tried ~terminal too.. but the kindle reboot after that

by the way a shortcut for ~help is ~h

(something unrelated.. alt-shift . display some barcode of the kindle)..

Last edited by odfi; 09-08-2010 at 11:40 AM. Reason: ..
odfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:09 PM   #43
test011
Connoisseur
test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.test011 can self-interpret dreams as they happen.
 
Posts: 65
Karma: 20728
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: K2i, K3(B006), KT(WiFi)
I am not sure this is relevant, someone at the Dark Reverser's site has said that his(or her) kindle has been always 3.0, but seems like utilizing a defferent DRM scheme after 9/3.

Maybe something has happened OTA without changing firmware level number?
Secretly deleting /test directory perhaps?

Quote:
It don't do anything unless you've got a /test directory on your unit. And ecostin does have it, and you, like 99.9% of other users, probably don't.

Last edited by test011; 09-08-2010 at 01:21 PM.
test011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:27 PM   #44
odfi
Junior Member
odfi began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 7
Karma: 10
Join Date: Sep 2010
Device: kindle 3
Smile

ecostin can you provide the log after the command exec ls in you debug :

(

;debugOn
~exec ls
;dumpMessages

then search for command=exec
and copy and paste here the followings lines..)

personaly on my kindle, I get :

Code:
 cvm[10639]: I Search:SHORTCUT:command=~exec:
  104613 100908:161316 cvm[10639]: I HistoryManagerImpl:History cursor updated:action=set,oldCursorIndex=22,newCursorIndex=21:
  104614 100908:161316 cvm[10639]: P BookletManager:PerfDump:id=Starting_Search,time=29,type=relative,abs-time=1283962396402,start-time=1283962396373:
  104615 100908:161316 cvm[10639]: D SystemBarImpl:DebugInfo::KwSystemBar: stopLongActivity called
  104616 100908:161316 cvm[10639]: D SystemBarImpl:DebugInfo::KwSystemBar: stopSpinner called

and for comparaison with a command that sucess as memInfo :


Code:
 I Search:SHORTCUT:command=~memInfo:
100908:161304 cvm[10639]: E Search:EXCEPTION::1: total memory: 20971520
for ~help :

Code:
 I Search:SHORTCUT:command=~help:
100908:145959 cvm[3325]: D HistoryManagerImpl:DebugInfo::HistoryManagerImpl.pop calling listener Home booklet with booklet://Home?HomeView:::0:::1:::
100908:145959 cvm[3325]: I HistoryManagerImpl:History cursor updated:action=set,oldCursorIndex=14,newCursorIndex=13:
100908:145959 cvm[3325]: P BookletManager:PerfDump:id=Starting_Search,time=57,type=relative,abs-time=1283957999161,start-time=1283957999104:
100908:145959 cvm[3325]: D SystemBarImpl:DebugInfo::KwSystemBar: stopLongActivity called
100908:145959 cvm[3325]: D SystemBarImpl:DebugInfo::KwSystemBar: stopSpinner called
100908:145959 cvm[3325]: W SystemBarImpl:SPIN:spinCount=0:count <=0 when stopSpinner() called
100908:145959 cvm[3325]: D UIManagerImpl:DebugInfo::UIManagerImpl.generateLCDEvent

hmm it seems that help provide nothing in log.. so maybee it's normal that ~exec do the same..

but just to compare with your's.. if possible

some more information for ~usbNetwork.. it do something like the log says :

Code:
100908:163309 cvm[10639]: I Search:SHORTCUT:command=~usbNetwork:
100908:163309 cvm[10639]: D DeviceService:DebugInfo::RuntimeExec sync = true : command = /usr/sbin/usbnetwork
don't now what /usr/sbin/usbnetwork do.. but ~usbNetwork run it

Last edited by odfi; 09-08-2010 at 12:42 PM. Reason: ..
odfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 12:50 PM   #45
porkupan
Fanatic
porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.porkupan ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
porkupan's Avatar
 
Posts: 554
Karma: 1057213
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Eastern U.S.
Device: Sony Reader
Quote:
Originally Posted by odfi View Post
don't now what /usr/sbin/usbnetwork do.. but ~usbNetwork run it
It don't do anything unless you've got a /test directory on your unit. And ecostin does have it, and you, like 99.9% of other users, probably don't.
porkupan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PRS-600 Serial console (i.e. shell) over USB Xaphiosis Sony Reader Dev Corner 6 08-22-2010 11:06 PM
PRS-900 Any luck getting a root shell? or debug mode? raisinbrain Sony Reader 0 01-05-2010 11:33 PM
Hacks can you get a shell on your kindle? svakanda Amazon Kindle 4 02-27-2009 10:37 AM
Getting a root shell guylhem Sony Reader Dev Corner 4 02-27-2009 05:24 AM
iLiad Can't Connect via USB after Dev Access Shell Install jfrey iRex Developer's Corner 4 02-20-2008 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:55 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.