View Single Post
Old 06-10-2014, 09:05 PM   #14
twobob
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°){ʇlnɐɟ ƃǝs}Týr
twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.twobob ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
twobob's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,586
Karma: 6299991
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: uti gratia usura (Yao ying da ying; Mo ying da yieng)
Device: PW-WIFI|K5-3G+WIFI| K4|K3-3G|DXG|K2| Rooted Nook Touch
meh. dunno what you are trying to do.

but this can totally work.

Will dig some stuff up.



CAVEAT: The attached thing IS NOT A FULLY POLISHED APP FOR THE k3. The menu wont work - you wont be able to exit easily blah blah blah.... it's just a POC for this person.... feel free to fix it and make it perfect.

Code:
[root@kindle root]# ls /var/tmp/root/.directfbrc

(nothing)

[root@kindle root]# finder directfbrc     ( you don't have "finder" btw)
/etc/directfbrc
[root@kindle root]# cat /etc/directfbrc 
no-vt
linux-input-devices=/dev/input/event0,/dev/input/event1
[root@kindle root]# cp /etc/directfbrc /var/tmp/root/.directfbrc
so copy the file like I show here to run custom directfb stuff... however, chances are it will look really rubbish as the screen will misreport the size and only show half the content (well 400 px spread over 800)

however I fixed this only this morning (somehow) will make a post on it briefly before I collapse.

EDIT:
Ah.. make this...


Code:
system = fbdev
fbdev = /dev/fb0

mode = 600x800
scaled = 600x800
depth = 8
pixelformat = LUT8
no-cursor # Disable Cursor
no-init-layer = 0 # Disable Layer Initialization
no-vt # Disable vt
no-vt-switch # Don't allow vt switching (redundant?) but meh .
smooth-upscale # Scaling
smooth-downscale
window-surface-policy = systemonly # Window surface swapping policy:
desktop-buffer-mode = backsystem # Desktop buffer mode:
linux-input-devices=/dev/input/event0,/dev/input/event1
and you will get nice output.

also you will need a:

Code:
echo 1 > /proc/eink_fb/update_display
personally I wrapped that in a timeout loop in the minesweeper app itself.

Code:

gboolean refresh_screen (gpointer data)
{
  system("echo 1 > /proc/eink_fb/update_display");

  /* Return true so the function will be called again; returning false removes
   * this timeout function.
   */
  return TRUE;
}


// and then... in the "main" loop add a:

    	 /* Add a timeout to update the screen every 750 milliseconds or so */
  gint func_ref = g_timeout_add (750, refresh_screen, vbox);
https://github.com/steshaw/gtk-examp...09.minesweeper for main code...

That should work for all simple gtk apps.


I simply compiled it with the 2007q3 arm softfloat toolchain.

I REPEAT:
CAVEAT: The attached thing IS NOT A FULLY POLISHED APP FOR THE k3. The menu wont work - you wont be able to exit easily blah blah blah.... it's just a POC for this person.... feel free to fix it and make it perfect.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fb0dump1.png
Views:	421
Size:	4.4 KB
ID:	123947   Click image for larger version

Name:	fb0dump2-Looks-WAY-better.png
Views:	403
Size:	5.8 KB
ID:	123948  
Attached Files
File Type: zip ch09.minesweeper-Source-code.zip (13.2 KB, 293 views)
File Type: zip minesweeper-k3.zip (10.4 KB, 264 views)

Last edited by twobob; 06-10-2014 at 10:06 PM.
twobob is offline   Reply With Quote