Originally Posted by Bilbo1967
Sorry, I think you are misunderstanding it. We too had several replays and commentary that clearly demonstrated that it was offside.
The offside rule states that there must be two opposing players between the offensive player and the goal. The fact that one of these is almost always the goalkeeper means that a lot of people read it the way you do.
In today's case, the goalkeeper had come out and got himself ahead (or behind, depending how you look at it) of the offensive player leaving just one player (the defender you correctly mention) between the offensive player and the goal-line. Therefore the ruling of offside was correct.
Yes, okay I understand now, as much as I've heard people explain the rule, nobody explained it as easily as you.
Based on my new understanding, I do agree that was a good call, I just thought that since the defender was hidden in the net the refs did not see him.
I was able to watch the Mexico vs South America game since it was early enough before going to work. But I'm missing the Uraguay vs France game, since I'm now at work. Maybe I'll go to lunch in a few and catch the the second half.