Originally Posted by =X=
Unless I'm not understanding the Offside rules, the first goal Mexico scored was recalled due to offside. But there was clearly a defender between the offensive player and the goal. There was several replays to show this error.
Sorry, I think you are misunderstanding it. We too had several replays and commentary that clearly demonstrated that it was offside.
The offside rule states that there must be two
opposing players between the offensive player and the goal. The fact that one of these is almost always the goalkeeper means that a lot of people read it the way you do.
In today's case, the goalkeeper had come out and got himself ahead (or behind, depending how you look at it) of the offensive player leaving just one
player (the defender you correctly mention) between the offensive player and the goal-line. Therefore the ruling of offside was correct.