Originally Posted by blue_skies
I have had dropbox installed on my desktop for a long time. I just received a new laptop and was thinking of installing dropbox on it and syncing to the same account.
I think I remember reading a post on this forum from someone who had files deleted unintentionally. I can't find the post (I thought I saved it) but I think it was because an additional device was linked up that didn't have the files -- so dropbox deleted these files in the original computer.
Is anyone familiar with this (or something similar)?
Any cautions that I should know about when syncing another device to the same dropbox account?
I want to make sure I don't accidentally delete my stored data.
That won't happen unless someone "deletes" folders or files from the Dropbox folder itself, whether it is on the PC hard drive, the laptop hard drive, or on a device such as a smartphone or tablet. If a file or folder is deleted, either from the Dropbox folder on the Web or one of the ones on a device/computer, then that file or folder in the Dropbox folder on all the other devices (using the same login or "shared" with someone else) are deleted as well.
I have a phone, a tablet, a netbook and a laptop and have never lost any data when adding a new device. I have however lost some when someone "sharing" a folder with me decided to clean up and make some room on their computer by deleting the shared folder in Dropbox on their hard drive. Luckily, I always have another copy backed up elsewhere...