What it will do when you install it on your new PC is add the files from the cloud onto your new PC. You can do a selective sync if you only want to certain files to go on there.
Like I have my 10GB Calibre Library on DB and Desktop but I don't want it on my netbook. I have it set in the advanced settings of the program not to sync that folder to the netbook. I've never lost files yet.