View Single Post
Old 01-20-2012, 07:56 PM   #34
DuckieTigger
Wizard
DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.DuckieTigger ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
DuckieTigger's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,856
Karma: 32911546
Join Date: Dec 2011
Device: PW1, Galaxy S5, Galaxy Note 4, Nexus 7 (2013), Nexus 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSWolf View Post
You can't do anything with the 1600x1200 resolution under the color layer. It's not possible. All you'll get is 800x600 and that's it. No anti-aliasing sub-pixel rendering. Just 800x600 and it will look big and it will look jagged and it won't look nice.
I am just curious, but how do you know that it will be impossible to sub-pixel anti-alias? Let's just imagine (since we don't have the specs anywhere) that the triton color filter makes each color pixel like this (with R for red, G for green, B for blue, W for white/no color filter). Capital letters for all white, and dots for black.
Code:
examples for all white:
  RB
  GW
all black:
  ..
  ..
red and grey turned on:
  R.
  .W
now for black text and white background you could make out of a "line" like this:

Code:
RBRB..
GWGW..
RB..RB
GW..GW
..RBRB
..GWGW
with subpixel AA turned on:
Code:
RBRB..
GWG...
RB...B
G...GW
...BRB
..GWGW
Not sure if this will work for AA white spaces, but it should work to fill in black for sure.

just a thought.

Edit: on second thought, if it works, it will work for black and white spots equally well. since you either add a little color if cutting some off the letter, and take some color away for filling in gaps on the background. Including gray levels might or might not improve it even more. And it should be user selectable, just like you can tune on screen font AA in Windows.

Last edited by DuckieTigger; 01-20-2012 at 08:02 PM.
DuckieTigger is offline   Reply With Quote