Originally Posted by kovidgoyal
Simply set the delete news older than setting to zero, then news will not be deleted, as the tooltip for that control will tell you.
So it does. Thanks to both of you for the help. I wouldn't have thought the maintenance ran even with no news downloads setup, and I wouldn't have noticed the tool tip if you hadn't mentioned it.