Originally Posted by kovidgoyal
convert existing appears only during bulk conversions and as it's text implies warns you that the result of the conversion will overwrite an existing format. For a single conversion, calibre assumes you are already aware of that.
wait... okay, it used
to say that on individual books when overwriting itself. I'm certain of it. Now it doesn't though. =S
What I'm getting at is, I don't want to convert from MOBI to MOBI. I want to convert from my original format to MOBI... And you're saying that the popup is no indication of whether or not it's doing this, but only that the output format already exists?
If so, then that makes me feel a lot better.