View Full Version : Troubleshooting Menu option for "Create New Collection" is greyed out, why?


geekgeek
08-31-2010, 04:59 AM
Hi guys,

I've just received my K3 today (my first e-reader ever!) and have been fiddling around with it excitedly, but I seem to have run into a little snag.

I've loaded a few books into the K3, and I wanted to try out the Collections function, but uopn pressing the Menu button in the Home screen, I was rather dismayed to see that the option to Create New Collection was grayed out.

Does anyone have any idea why this could be so?
:help:

Ajax
08-31-2010, 06:06 AM
The only time I have ever seen that is if it is not registered to an Amazon account.

Vighnahara
09-29-2010, 03:33 AM
The only time I have ever seen that is if it is not registered to an Amazon account.

Yup! I was having this problem too, read your post and finally got around to registering my Kindle. Yay! Collections Ahoy!

robkat
09-29-2010, 05:51 AM
The collections option will not work until you have got wifi up and running on your kindle.

Mike L
09-29-2010, 07:12 AM
The collections option will not work until you have got wifi up and running on your kindle.

Are you sure about that?

My wife uses collections on her Kindle, and never has wireless connected.

caleb72
09-29-2010, 10:03 AM
Thanks for this post. I've just received my Kindle today and I noticed the same thing - collections greyed out.

However, I haven't set up my Kindle with Amazon yet so that would explain it.

Regards
Caleb

wongdong
09-29-2010, 10:32 AM
Yepp, the reason is that you are not registered with Amazon. At the moment, the only way to create collections on your device when NOT registered is, to use the Kindle Collection Creator.

I do that because i consider a registered device a severe privacy threat. Beware though. As soon as you register your kindle (again), it will delete all collections created by 3rd-party software with the ones stored with amazon (yepp, your collections are stored there).

Cheers

booknut
09-29-2010, 10:37 AM
How about the clock feature? It was working fine and then I deregistered my Kindle and now I have the wrong time but no way to change it...

Tiersten
09-29-2010, 11:04 AM
How about the clock feature? It was working fine and then I deregistered my Kindle and now I have the wrong time but no way to change it...
You can manually set the clock on page 2 of Settings.

Tiersten
09-29-2010, 11:06 AM
My wife uses collections on her Kindle, and never has wireless connected.
You just need to have registered the Kindle to enable collections as Amazon has it as part of their syncing data.

booknut
09-29-2010, 11:22 AM
You can manually set the clock on page 2 of Settings.

I have no page 2 of settings...did have page two when I had the Kindle registered, though.

Tiersten
09-29-2010, 11:45 AM
I have no page 2 of settings...did have page two when I had the Kindle registered, though.
Ah. Yes. You lose the other 2 pages if you're not registered. Any reason why you don't want it registered?

booknut
09-29-2010, 12:05 PM
Ah. Yes. You lose the other 2 pages if you're not registered. Any reason why you don't want it registered?

I have no need to, I am using my Kindle to store only personal docs (knitting patterns) and I want to be able to update the firmware at my convenience. In order to save battery life, I turned wireless off already. That should actually take care of it but I also find the naming of this device sort of dorky, it's a tool for me, not a personal friend with a name...

I find it a little disappointing that many advanced features are linked with registration with Amazon but I guess that's the price you pay for getting such a cheap reader, the improved text is great for my eyes and that's why I bought it.

Tiersten
09-29-2010, 12:43 PM
I have no need to, I am using my Kindle to store only personal docs (knitting patterns) and I want to be able to update the firmware at my convenience. In order to save battery life, I turned wireless off already.
Assuming you don't need the browser, you can leave it registered but with WiFi disabled. That'd be the only way you can get all the features but also have the ability to choose if and when you do updates.

As a guess, I assume that the Kindle wants the timezone which it gets from linking to your Amazon account.

Excluding the password and time, the rest of the options on the 2nd and 3rd pages are useless without registration and Personal Info is just useless.

That should actually take care of it but I also find the naming of this device sort of dorky, it's a tool for me, not a personal friend with a name...
Kindle is dorky? I didn't think that Amazon advertised the Kindle as being a personal friend with a name.

I find it a little disappointing that many advanced features are linked with registration with Amazon but I guess that's the price you pay for getting such a cheap reader, the improved text is great for my eyes and that's why I bought it.
Excluding the settings menu, the only feature I know of that requires linking the Kindle to an account is collections.

booknut
09-29-2010, 01:20 PM
No, I mean it's calling itself Barbara's Kindle or something like that, I am not creative enough to come up with something better that I like, so I just left the whole device "in its natural, untempered with state" so to speak and the only thing I miss is a time setting. I had sent some gifts to friends overseas and somehow it had assumed that was my time zone, since I am a frequent Amazon buyer and have an account with them, so without too much fiddling around, a local time setting without registration would have been more practical for me. That's another reason why I prefer not to register it, when it syncs every so often, it resets the time.

Tiersten
09-29-2010, 01:26 PM
No, I mean it's calling itself Barbara's Kindle or something like that, I am not creative enough to come up with something better that I like, so I just left the whole device "in its natural, untempered with state" so to speak and the only thing I miss is a time setting.
Oh right. I renamed mine to my telephone number so if I do lose it, its easy to find a number unlike the useless personal info section at the end of the 3rd page of settings.

That's another reason why I prefer not to register it, when it syncs every so often, it resets the time.
If you do manually set the time then it disables the automatic time setting. You might be able to register, manually set the time and then deregister?

Mike L
09-29-2010, 02:51 PM
You just need to have registered the Kindle to enable collections as Amazon has it as part of their syncing data.

Yes, that's what I was saying. Once you've registered, you don't need a wireless connection to use collections.

wongdong
09-30-2010, 02:32 AM
[QUOTE=Tiersten;1136910]Oh right. I renamed mine to my telephone number so if I do lose it, its easy to find a number unlike the useless personal info section at the end of the 3rd page of settings.[/QUOTE

Oh, thats actually a very good idea! Thanks.

Jackie7
07-17-2011, 04:30 AM
Where can I download the kindle collection creator? I cannot find that software using google, so where can I get it?

Thanks alot