View Full Version : Android Apps on the eDGe?

fibrou
03-06-2010, 10:49 AM
According to enTourage, we should be able to download and install Android Apps from various developers. I have been able to download a couple, but when I go to run them, they always indicate that something is "missing," e.g. source file missing, or application missing, or something like that. What am I doing wrong when installing android apps from non-Market sources and trying to run them on the eDGe? I am new to Android OS, so I am sure there is something simple I am missing. Any direction is greatly appreciated.

sarah11918
03-06-2010, 07:10 PM
I found this article helpful http://blog.laptopmag.com/how-to-find-android-apps

I'm loving dolphin browser and swift twit!

fibrou
03-07-2010, 07:37 AM
Thanks for the link. Very helpful.

mgm1979
03-07-2010, 11:02 PM
I've gotten all of my apps from AndAppStore.com - not a HUGE selection, but enough to keep ya busy for a while. My next step is to try installing apps directly from my fiance's Eris, which connects to the Android Marketplace...I'll post back with my results as soon as I do that.

sarah11918
03-07-2010, 11:41 PM
I was able to download a "market app" from both AndAppStore and SlideME for ease of browsing/installing apps from the respective sites. They have both worked fine in terms of downloading/installing apps.

I've only tried a few free apps so far (again, cannot recommend Dolphin Browser highly enough!! and if you tweet, Swift Twit) but some of them don't resize to fill the eDGe's screen. As the device becomes more popular, hopefully app creators will either think about resizing or at least mention whether their app scales to the eDGe's screen.

lsoverdrive
03-07-2010, 11:48 PM
has anyone found a good organiser/calendar application? ultimately i'd love to see something like the courier, but at the moment something that would sync with google calendar and have offline use would be great.

PhishStyx
03-08-2010, 01:39 AM