View Full Version : Adobe Digital Editions Error Message


cmbs
09-01-2009, 06:12 PM
Hi.

I am getting this message in Adobe Digital Editions when I open an epub I made

"the document appears to have minor errors that might cause it to be displayed incorrectly"

The epub is displaying fine. I checked in Adobe, Sony, FBReader, and Calibre.

The html and css is valid. No warnings. Perfectly valid. All of it.

Epubcheck gives it no warnings or errors.

Some of the chapter titles in the table of contents are pretty long. Could that be a problem?

I have no idea how else to check it to find out what could be causing this error. Does anyone have any idea?

Thanks.

JSWolf
09-01-2009, 06:56 PM
Give this a try.. try running the ePub through Calibre converting it to ePub just to see what happens.

Jim Lester
09-01-2009, 07:31 PM
I would suggest running it through one of the ePub validators such as epubcheck see what they turn up.

Kostas
09-01-2009, 07:34 PM
Epubcheck gives it no warnings or errors.

I would suggest running it through one of the ePub validators such as epubcheck see what they turn up.
Already did.

cmbs
09-01-2009, 09:15 PM
Give this a try.. try running the ePub through Calibre converting it to ePub just to see what happens.

Ok. It produces an epub without errors in adobe, but it also rewrites my css and removes my guide.

I can't figure out what it's doing different that is making the difference.

I've made good epubs before. I don't know what's different about this one.

cmbs
09-02-2009, 01:37 PM
I figured it out, if anyone's interested. I had put in the css no text decoration on the links to see if I could get them to show up without underlines. I removed that part of the css and there's no more error.

Jellby
09-02-2009, 03:26 PM
Did you use "text-decoration: none"? The spec supports it and does not give any alternate display, so it should work, and if it doesn't it's ADE's fault.

Maybe some missing semicolon in the CSS?

cmbs
09-02-2009, 03:44 PM
Hi Jellby,

I did, and the css was valid so the semicolon was there. Otherwise the validator would have caught it. So maybe it's adobe's fault.

It'd be helpful if they'd provide a list of what will cause that error message to show up.