View Full Version : Registering Kindle without wireless


Bjorn
03-13-2009, 05:32 AM
Hi,

I just got my Kindle2. Love it :2thumbsup
Since I live in Sweden I can't use the wireless features, no big deal. But I can't seem to register my Kindle? My Amazon account is registered to the Kindle so I can buy and download books to my kindle just fine but my Kindle doesn't know it's registered.
This means I can't acces the setting meny cause it want me to register first...

Anyone found a way to register their Kindle without mobile network coverage?

rcuadro
03-13-2009, 05:39 AM
I am wondering the same thing. I will eventually be back in the states but for the mean time...
Sigh

vickikayak
03-13-2009, 08:44 AM
You can register your Kindle from Amazon's site. Log in. If you're on the main Amazon page, there's a small link in the upper right corner to "Your Account." Click that. There's a block called "Digital Content" and under the heading "Digital Management" you'll see, "Manage Your Kindle." Click that. Under the section "Your Kindles," you'll see a link "Register a new Kindle." It will ask you for your serial number, which is on the back of your Kindle. Then follow the rest of the steps.

That's also where you can keep track of orders, redownload books, change your Kindle's name and email address. If you ever want to send documents to your Kindle, take a minute to put in email addresses you might use. If you don't authorize an email address, Amazon won't send anything to your Kindle. Cuts out the option of SPAM.

Enjoy your Kindle!

rcuadro
03-13-2009, 11:03 AM
I know about that... that is all taken care of and I can download books until I am blue in the face... and I can then just send them to the Kindle through USB.
When you look at the Kindle itself there is a section where you register it by entering your Amazon email and password... then click submit. That is what I cannot do until I get back to the states :(

Leep
03-13-2009, 11:15 AM
That's because it's your whispernet address and you don't have one until Whispernet finds you.

cheers

rcuadro
03-13-2009, 11:31 AM
That's because it's your whispernet address and you don't have one until Whispernet finds you.

cheers

Oh Fiddle Sticks :smack:

pilotbob
03-14-2009, 02:05 PM
When you look at the Kindle itself there is a section where you register it by entering your Amazon email and password... then click submit. That is what I cannot do until I get back to the states :(

No worries. It will work fine without knowing that it is registered.

BOb

sirbruce
03-14-2009, 05:53 PM
Yeah, other than the fact you can't register it on the menu (duh), is there anything else you can't access? Why do you say you can't access the settings menu?

hmemcpy
03-15-2009, 05:43 AM
Yeah, other than the fact you can't register it on the menu (duh), is there anything else you can't access? Why do you say you can't access the settings menu?

I have the same problem - I live in Israel and although my Kindle is registered on the Amazon site (under "Manage your Kindle"), the device itself needs to be registered as well. When I try to access the Settings menu, it wants to register the Kindle before allowing me to do anything else in the settings. Since there is no Whispernet - I am unable to register, and I'm sure that's the original poster's (Bjorn) problem.

dschill
03-15-2009, 11:22 AM
i love it...
let me rephrase that!
Im Lovin it ;)
http://photosnag.com/img/3045/y09w0131xdtc/82(2).gif

sirbruce
03-15-2009, 01:33 PM
I have the same problem - I live in Israel and although my Kindle is registered on the Amazon site (under "Manage your Kindle"), the device itself needs to be registered as well. When I try to access the Settings menu, it wants to register the Kindle before allowing me to do anything else in the settings. Since there is no Whispernet - I am unable to register, and I'm sure that's the original poster's (Bjorn) problem.

Can you elaborate a little? I assume this means you can't set the Device Niame, Device E-mail, or Personal Info? When you hit Menu, do you get options Turn Wireless On, Shop in Kindle Store, Disable Annotations Backup, Update Your Kindle, Restart, Reset to Factory Defaults, Legal, Sync & Check For Items?

Anyway, regardless, you can still load and read Amazon and other content to the device via USB.

hmemcpy
03-15-2009, 04:53 PM
Can you elaborate a little? I assume this means you can't set the Device Niame, Device E-mail, or Personal Info? When you hit Menu, do you get options Turn Wireless On, Shop in Kindle Store, Disable Annotations Backup, Update Your Kindle, Restart, Reset to Factory Defaults, Legal, Sync & Check For Items?

Anyway, regardless, you can still load and read Amazon and other content to the device via USB.

You are correct. I cannot set all these things because they all require wireless which I cannot turn on.
When I hit Menu, I can get the following:
* Turn Wireless On
* Shop in Kindle Store (which demands turning wireless on)
* Search (which takes me to the search dialog, however wiki/web search is not functional because the device is not registered)
* Settings (which takes me to "Registration" dialog, and nothing else)
* Experimental (where Basic web doesn't work for the same reasons)
and disabled Sync & Check for Items.

For now I'm happy loading my content via USB. Hopefully the wireless issue will be one day solved either by Amazon or generous people on this site :)

Bjorn
03-16-2009, 06:37 PM
Yupp, what he said :D
So far the only thing I "want" from the settings menu is the ability to name my Kindle, he feels neglected being called "My Kindle".
Other than that everything seems to work fine. Have managed to buy books from a swedish bookstore and lend(lent?) books from my library.
And just to get Amazon of my back, -yes I have also bought books from amazon.com :D
The TTS on the swedish book is hilarious btw.

jfppal
12-07-2009, 04:10 AM
Yupp, what he said :D
So far the only thing I "want" from the settings menu is the ability to name my Kindle, he feels neglected being called "My Kindle".
Other than that everything seems to work fine. Have managed to buy books from a swedish bookstore and lend(lent?) books from my library.
And just to get Amazon of my back, -yes I have also bought books from amazon.com :D
The TTS on the swedish book is hilarious btw.

Not only that. Without whispernet you cannot change the included dictionary because you need access to the settings also. I have mine in Spain and it's my main disappointment. I Hope the Amazon teem will allow the access via USB for registering purpose making so this menu useful outside the U.S.
Juan.

mariusga
12-25-2009, 02:06 PM
Meanwhile have you found solution to register the device without wireless support?
Any solution?

jfppal
01-01-2010, 07:36 AM
Meanwhile have you found solution to register the device without wireless support?
Any solution?

Yes, I reached that recently. Here is the way (in Spanish):

http://kindleman.blogspot.com/2009/08/como-casi-registrar-tus-kindle.html

Happy New Year.

mariusga
01-08-2010, 10:56 AM
Yes, I reached that recently. Here is the way (in Spanish):

http://kindleman.blogspot.com/2009/08/como-casi-registrar-tus-kindle.html

Happy New Year.

Yes it works! And is so simple!
Thanks a lot!

Guest333
01-27-2010, 04:41 AM
I live in Israel and have asked my friend to bring me Kindle 2 Global from US. Will it be good idea to register the device in US before bringing it here? I mean will it help to the settings menu problem? Will then be possible to turn on wireless Internet connection? Thanks in advance!

jfppal
01-29-2010, 02:47 AM
I live in Israel and have asked my friend to bring me Kindle 2 Global from US. Will it be good idea to register the device in US before bringing it here? I mean will it help to the settings menu problem? Will then be possible to turn on wireless Internet connection? Thanks in advance!

Yes, it is advisable in case Israel is not included as covered area for "whispernet" (I don't know). See coverage map in www.amazon.com.
Greetings.

kevindorsey
02-02-2010, 01:11 PM
I live in Israel and have asked my friend to bring me Kindle 2 Global from US. Will it be good idea to register the device in US before bringing it here? I mean will it help to the settings menu problem? Will then be possible to turn on wireless Internet connection? Thanks in advance!

Definitely, you don't want the extra hassle just in case.