View Full Version : Can Mobi books be 'exploded'

AnemicOak
03-06-2009, 02:44 PM
I'm just learning the ins and outs of the Mobi format now that I have a K2. I'm wondering if a Mobi book can be 'exploded' in any way, like a lit can be. The book I'm reading right now has TM's (trademark symbol) in place of asterisks where asterisks are used to separate part of a chapter (sorry, don't know the proper term). I'd like to fix these, but don't really want to have to change the Mobi to HTML & completely recreate the book.

With a Lit I'd just explode it, edit the HTML and then re-build it with Readerworks.

Any ideas?

pilotbob
03-06-2009, 02:46 PM
The mobiperl toolset has a mobi2html.

https://dev.mobileread.com/trac/mobiperl

I also think that calibre has an any2oeb that will do this.

BOb

JSWolf
03-06-2009, 02:50 PM
Use mobi2oeb that comes with Calibre.

AnemicOak
03-06-2009, 02:50 PM
Thanks. I guess I'm hoping to get a whole package (HTML, jpeg, oeb) and not just the straight HTML that mobi2html gives you. I'll check out any2oeb.

pilotbob
03-06-2009, 02:52 PM
Thanks. I guess I'm hoping to get a whole package (HTML, jpeg, oeb) and not just the straight HTML that mobi2html gives you. I'll check out any2oeb.

The doc says:

A script to explode a DRM-free MobiPocket file to html. If no unpack directory is specified the directory unpacked in the current directory will be used.

BOb

tompe
03-06-2009, 03:01 PM

mobi2htm gives you everything. Except that oeb information is not in the file so the script does not try to guess how it should look like. You get html code and all the images.

bwaldron
03-06-2009, 03:12 PM
Use mobi2oeb that comes with Calibre.

Yes, that does a better job in getting the complete "package."

AnemicOak
03-06-2009, 03:19 PM