View Full Version : Need help converting a book for my Kindle

hahler2
01-04-2009, 10:39 PM
I wasn't paying attention the other day when I was buying books, and didn't notice that one that I bought wasn't in a Kindle format. It's in a .pdb format. I am very new to the ebook reading thing (just got my Kindle two days ago) and I'm wondering how do I convert a .pdb ebook to work on my Kindle? I'm sure I will have to strip the DRM first, and then convert. Could someone help me with this please? I use a mac computer, but I have Windows installed through VMware.

desertgrandma
01-04-2009, 10:41 PM
I wasn't paying attention the other day when I was buying books, and didn't notice that one that I bought wasn't in a Kindle format. It's in a .pdb format. I am very new to the ebook reading thing (just got my Kindle two days ago) and I'm wondering how do I convert a .pdb ebook to work on my Kindle? I'm sure I will have to strip the DRM first, and then convert. Could someone help me with this please? I use a mac computer, but I have Windows installed through VMware.

You might try contacting the site you bought the books from. Most are very understanding, and would allow a credit to re-purchase in the .prc (mobi) format.
(I"m not familiar with .pdb?)

hahler2
01-04-2009, 11:42 PM
.pdb is for ereader. Also I looked at the site to see if I could do that and they only carry the book in that format.

pilotbob
01-04-2009, 11:44 PM
I am very new to the ebook reading thing (just got my Kindle two days ago) and I'm wondering how do I convert a .pdb ebook to work on my Kindle?

I'm curious. Why would the first book(s) you buy for your Kindle be NOT from the Kindle store? The Kindle book store is one of the best parts of Kindle ownership.

BOb

desertgrandma
01-05-2009, 12:24 AM
.pdb is for ereader. Also I looked at the site to see if I could do that and they only carry the book in that format.

Which site did you buy this from?

wallcraft
01-05-2009, 12:25 AM