View Full Version : Calibre and Python: do they get along?

07-19-2008, 08:09 AM
Hi. I've just downloaded Calibre and found that it did not run. I've looked for library1.db in all the usual dives and bars and come up empty. I'm now combing the rest of the system just in case, but I've noticed that some people have had to delete Python-related files from their systems before Calibre would work for them.

This could be a problem, as I need to keep Python around for other purposes. Can Calibre work with Python, or am I going to have to give up on it?

07-19-2008, 11:25 AM
I've used some of the command line programs from Calibre while having Python 2.5 installed. Not a problem here at all. I'm using Windows XP Pro service pack 3.

07-19-2008, 11:45 AM
yeah as far as I know calibre works just fine with python installed.

07-19-2008, 09:33 PM
In that case, I think I have a problem. I'm using Windows XP Home on a 2.25 GHz system with 2Gb RAM. Here's my Calibre.log:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "", line 28, in <module>
File "calibre\gui2\main_ui.pyo", line 284, in <module>
File "calibre\gui2\widgets.pyo", line 18, in <module>
File "G:\Program Files\calibre\\calibre\utils\fontconfig .py", line 145, in <module>
WindowsError: exception: access violation writing 0x00000000

As I said, I don't have a library1.db file anywhere on my computer. What have I done or failed to do?

07-19-2008, 10:00 PM
try this build of calibre

07-20-2008, 12:19 AM
That seems to have done the trick. Thank you.

07-20-2008, 06:11 PM
try this build of calibre

Does this mean, if I'm running Windows XP and have Python installed, I should avoid upgrading to 0.4.78 at the current time?


07-20-2008, 07:54 PM
no 0.4.78 includes the fixes in the special build