View Full Version : Correcting 'll' errors (al , final y, etc)

flameproof
05-08-2012, 11:16 AM
Some epub files that I converted from PDF with Calibre have an issue with one missing 'l' where there should be a a double ll.

I know, the issue is still open and hopefully be fixed one day.

In the meantime I wrote a PHP script that can fix the issue. However, there seem to be endless errors and it's hard to cover all.

Here is what I mean:

str_replace(" al ", " all ", $input);

is ok for 'al' the text, but ' al ,' will be replaced with ' all ,', and then there is ' al ?' and - and ! and so on.

I would need a few 100 str_replace commands.

Is there a cleaner way to use REGEX?

I am not a REGEX expert, but I know you can have options ' al /s|\.|,|\?|!|-' It would make the script better readable.

Just for a starter:

$path = 'C:/xampp/tmp/test.epub';

$zip = new ZipArchive;
if ($zip->open($path) === true) {

for($i = 0; $i < $zip->numFiles; $i++) {

$zip->extractTo('me/', array($zip->getNameIndex($i)));

// here you can run a custom function for the particular extracted file

}

$zip->close();

}

$directory = "C:/xampp/htdocs/bom3/scams/me/";

$html = glob($directory . "*.html");

foreach($html as $value)
{
echo $value."<br>";
}

// just an example with one file...

$data = file_get_contents("C:/xampp/htdocs/bom3/scams/me/index_split_005.html");

$replacer = str_replace("l ed ", "lled ", $data);
$replacer = str_replace("l ed.", "lled.", $replacer);
$replacer = str_replace("l ed,", "lled,", $replacer);

echo $replacer;

Update: str_replace is ok, but preg_replace is way more functional. I am not at about 80% correction level and I am still working on it! Below is what I got so far:

$data = file_get_contents("C:/xampp/htdocs/bom3/scams/me/index_split_005.html");

$replacer = preg_replace("/\s([Aa]l)\s(\.|\?|!|,|-)?/", " $1l$2", $data); // all
$replacer = preg_replace("/l\sed([^a-z])/", "lled$1", $replacer); // lled