View Full Version : need help with ebook formatting

parrafo175
11-02-2011, 10:22 AM
Hello,

I am very new to ebook formatting. I have good knowledge of HTML and CSS but so far I have only tried a few things like write2pub for Open Office, SIgil and Calibre.

Any advice on any other software (preferably free) that I could play with?

Any rules for creating good ebooks out there?

Thank you
Eleni

dwig
11-02-2011, 10:32 AM
Any advice on any other software (preferably free) that I could play with?

Any rules for creating good ebooks out there?

Thank you
Eleni

I find Notpad++ useful once you add the WebEdit plugin and customize it with appropriate tags.

There is a lot of info on formatting in MR's ePub and Kindle forums.

parrafo175
11-04-2011, 05:29 AM
Thanks dwig for the information. I will try out Notepad++

Do you think it is a good idea to create a template css that I can use with epubs, so I only make little changes here and there?

AlexBell
11-05-2011, 04:37 AM
Thanks dwig for the information. I will try out Notepad++

Do you think it is a good idea to create a template css that I can use with epubs, so I only make little changes here and there?

Well, for what it's worth that's what I do - I have two templates, one for MobileRead library and one for Circaidy Gregory Press for whom I'm doing some conversions from print to ePub. If some ebooks have special needs I just fiddle with the template.

In fact I use a template for the whole ePub, and just change or overwrite the files in it. It's pretty basic, but if it's of any interest to you I could send it.

Toxaris
11-05-2011, 07:05 AM
That is what I do too. I have a core epub with pages for covers and so on and a CSS stylesheet. I upload the book in the core and change what needs to be changed.

parrafo175
11-09-2011, 01:56 PM
In fact I use a template for the whole ePub, and just change or overwrite the files in it. It's pretty basic, but if it's of any interest to you I could send it.

Hello,