View Full Version : Tell me about the on screen keyboard

ron1959
11-01-2011, 09:03 PM
Is it good to use or frustrating?
Is anyone using the vox to reply on this forum....?
:)

spikexp
11-01-2011, 09:33 PM
At first I was on my desktop, but i took time to open my vox just to reply to this. I can type really easily with this keyboard, sure not as fast as with my desktop, but still fast.

All this was type with the vox in portrait mode(the small key).

Haesslich
11-01-2011, 09:45 PM
I've used it to reply on this forum. It's standard Gingerbread, which makes it slightly frustrating. Look for a more thumb-friendly tablet-oriented keyboard app - I just wish you could get Thumb Keyboard on this.

pokee
11-01-2011, 10:04 PM
I've never used a thumb keyboard before, but I think I'd like it!

TonyToews
11-01-2011, 10:28 PM
It's ok but then I've been a touch typist since when I took manual (non electric) typewriters in high school. And I've been programming computers ever since.

(Indeed I have 8 or 9 of my favourite keyboard once I realize they stopped making that ergonomic layout anymore. At about 5 - 8 years life per keyboard I should be good until I die.)

ron1959
11-01-2011, 10:32 PM
Ok question for you guys using your thumbs.
Seems to me like portrait mode would be cramped and top heavy & landscape mode would be too wide to reach all over with thumbs?
comments....?

ron1959
11-01-2011, 10:36 PM
It's ok but then I've been a touch typist since when I took manual (non electric) typewriters in high school. And I've been programming computers ever since.

(Indeed I have 8 or 9 of my favourite keyboard once I realize they stopped making that ergonomic layout anymore. At about 5 - 8 years life per keyboard I should be good until I die.)

Hi Tony - do you lay the tablet flat on a table on the table for touch typing?
I always thought it would be difficult to view the screen that way but I guess if the angle is ok for reading it should be ok for typing.

Haesslich