View Full Version : how to modify style of specific p classes?

clemens14
09-18-2011, 05:12 AM
Hello,

I have a folder with some html files (actually saved as txt, but I guess it doesn't matter) for the various chapters of a Sanskrit book.
Each of these files has many subchapters, actually verses, and each of them has various sections, namely the original text, its transliterations, word for word translation, translation and purport, etc.

In the tagged html text the sections are defined by p classes
An actual example from chapter 10 verse 8

<p class="chapnum">CHAPTER TEN</p><a name="8"></a>
<p class="VerseNumberHeading">Bg10.8</p>
<p class="Textnum">TEXT 8</p>
<p class="VerseText">...</p>
<p class="SynonymsSA"><i>...</i></p>
<p class="Titles">TRANSLATION</p>
<p class="Bold">...</p>
<p class="Titles">PURPORT</p>

I am a beginner in epub construction and I am using Sigil to make the actual epub. The problem is that , although Sigil does a great job at making the epub, it obviously considers all the paragraph classes as part of the paragraph, and thus does not include them in the style sheet.
I would like to be able modify the appearance of the above mentioned parts by adding space before or after, increasing fonts etc. because they are all lumped together.
What should I do?
How do I add them to the stylesheet?

LaoTseu
09-18-2011, 09:20 AM
Quite easily. The syntax for classes in the stylesheet is .class_name or element.class_name.

Here are two ways to do it.

First, just using class names:
.chapnum {
/* put your own styles here */
font-size: 1.125em;
font-weight: bold;
margin-bottom: 2em;
margin-left: 0;
margin-right: 5%;
margin-top: 10%;
text-align: center;
text-indent: 0;
}

.VerseNumberHeading {
margin-bottom: 0;
margin-top: 0;
text-align: left;
text-indent: 1em;
}

By using class name this way, you can reuse the class in different element. You could do <h1 class="chapnum "> for example and the style would apply.

Second examples:

p.chapnum {