View Full Version : How to spice up an EPUB?

clemens14
09-07-2011, 04:06 AM
Hello,

I am a beginner of epub creation in general, but I was wondering if there were ways to "spice up" epubs a bit.
The only things I could think of are dropcaps and images here and there, wrapped by text and not, and some hyperlinks but I was wondering if more could be done, not to the level of things like the bakerframework, but at least a bit more interactive.
I hope that my question doesn't sound too silly, but although a newbie I am curious to know to what extremes the standard has been stretched.
Cheers,

Clemens

Toxaris
09-07-2011, 06:29 AM
You could look in the sticky at the top for how to use other fonts, dropcaps, columns and other things.
I am not quite sure what you are thinking about with regards to 'spice up'. A book is usually not that interactive, unless you mean those old adventure books.
You can add audio and video, which will only run on very few applications and is not according to specifications.

Pablo
09-07-2011, 08:48 AM
Have a look at my tutorial (see my signature), you may find it useful.

DiapDealer
09-07-2011, 09:46 AM
How to spice up an EPUB?
I would start by filling the ePub up with really cool words. Then arrange those words into interesting combinations that make me want to click the "next" button over and over again for hours on end. :D

amarie0
09-07-2011, 10:04 PM
I would start by filling the ePub up with really cool words. Then arrange those words into interesting combinations

ROFL. What a concept! I might try it myself.

JSWolf
09-07-2011, 10:09 PM