View Full Version : Any good Perl scripters out there?

Goshzilla
10-09-2007, 04:31 PM
I have the software installed on my comp but I have never written a perl script before. I have done programming in Java and C++, so I naively thought that a program to hyphenate every word in a paragraph with a softhyphen(one that does not show up unless the word is positioned at the end of a line) would be easy. Turns out it isn't. But luckily it was throughly researched by Donald Knuth when he wrote his LaTex program.

There is a perl command equivalent that uses the LaTex hyphenation scheme

http://www.gemjack.com/gems/text-hyphen-1.0.0/classes/Text/Hyphen.html

I would like to be able to write a simple script that can take an entire html file, hyphenate the body's text with softhyphens and then save it back to the html file. The reason why this interests me is that for alot of ebooks I make for the Gemstar have alot of blank spaces between words due to fullscreen justification.

note: I would prefer to work in html since the texts I use are Project Gutenberg texts, and I convert them to html using the Gutenmark tool.

kovidgoyal
10-09-2007, 05:46 PM
Use beatifulsoup + python hyphenate shouldn't need more than a 100 line script.

JSWolf
10-09-2007, 05:47 PM
If we put in soft hyphens in an LRS would it work when converted to LRF?

kovidgoyal
10-09-2007, 05:54 PM
It might depends on whether SONY's reader software supports soft hyphens.

kovidgoyal
10-09-2007, 06:04 PM
I just checked it doesn't. In fact it worse than doesn't. It converts them to real hyphens. And doesn't line break on them.

NatCh
10-09-2007, 06:11 PM
It converts them to real hyphens. And doesn't line break on them.Ouch.

JSWolf
10-09-2007, 06:32 PM
That's odd. As I've seen it break on a real hyphen if the real hyphen is already in the text. Doesn't break on em dashes for some idiotic reason.

NatCh
10-09-2007, 06:41 PM