View Full Version : Mobile Forum Beta Test Here!


Alexander Turcic
03-02-2004, 03:14 PM
As part of our major site update, we will offer the full browsable forum as mobile content. The browsable version is not meant for offline browsers such as iSilo (another mobile forum is in work for the latter).

So if you have an online browser on your PDA, and if you would like to help us beta test the mobile forum, please reply to this thread.

Alexander

cbarnett
03-02-2004, 06:14 PM
I'll try it out. I've had little use for IE on the 1930 otherwise, until now <g>

Craig.

Alexander Turcic
03-02-2004, 06:29 PM
cbarnett check your PM ;)

Alexander Turcic
03-03-2004, 12:24 PM
The mobile browsable forum is now available for public testing.

You must be registered before you can use it!

The url:
http://www.mobileread.com/mobile/

Please post everything that comes into your mind that could need improvement!

Thanks to cbarnett for private beta-testing and for the screenshots :)

Alex

Zire
03-04-2004, 01:25 AM
Hey,

Too bad I don't have a way to connect my zire71 to the internet. I am close by a networked computer all the time anyway so I can wait until I get home/work in order to go on the internet. But I have to admit it would be pretty cool :-).

Dmc
03-04-2004, 12:01 PM
OK this may be a stupid question but please bare with me, I just woke up and the only coffee I could find in the house is decafe. But is there anyway to access the internet from a PDA by having it in the hotsync cradle or yousing IRDA with a laptop. Theoritically it should be able to be done but I dont know if anybody has ever been in my state of mind. The reason I ask is that I want to see the new mobile site. Thanks for any sort of assistance you may be able to give. Now if you excuse me, I will be walking into town to go to the Tim Hortons.

cbarnett
03-04-2004, 06:22 PM
Hmmm, with my ipaq, it's just a case of plugging it into the cable or cradle, and I have instant access through Activesync. Palms are a different kettle of fish. There's a utility available (though the name and url escapes me now :( ) that allows you to make a ppp connection to your pc from the palm in it's cradle. I tried it with my clie ages ago, but never got it working to my satisfaction.

Sorry I can't help you more. If I can find the url for the site with the software, I'll post it here.

Craig.

Dmc
03-04-2004, 06:56 PM
Thanks for your response. I'll do an extensive web search to try to find that utility. You ready Google?!?!? Here I come!!!

cbarnett
03-04-2004, 07:57 PM
Ah, now I remember the name of the software. Try searching for SoftickPPP!

Craig.

Dmc
03-05-2004, 12:23 AM
Will do.
TY

sUnShInE
03-06-2004, 11:08 PM
My co-worker just got the new TJ37 (I made him do it to see if I wanted one, and I do!). We're playing with his wifi alot lately. I'll check it out and post my thoughts.

anomaly
03-10-2004, 06:20 PM
Couldn't tell if you still wanted replies or just to test it out - but I will look at it later today. Using a Clie TH-55 with Wi-Fi

Alexander Turcic
03-10-2004, 06:38 PM
Couldn't tell if you still wanted replies or just to test it out - but I will look at it later today. Using a Clie TH-55 with Wi-FiYes! Looking for all kinds of feedback ;) Thanks in advance.

Alex