View Full Version : Unable to register PE


ajc263
06-12-2011, 11:46 PM
Greetings,

I recently had a defective PE from Woot and just got my replacement unit a couple of days ago. I am unable to get past the registration screen. I read on another thread that someone had a similar issue and was able to resolve it by accessing the adobe password and resetting it, but I can't seem to get the same thing to work for me. I also read on the knowledge base that there should have been a screen button that allows me to skip the registration step, but there isn't one.

I am getting code error 9, which means that the adobe webiste is timing out, but I can access it from the machine I'm using now on my WiFi. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks very much,
AJ

emusan
06-13-2011, 12:08 AM
Another user was having a problem with the Adobe registration(the same error, code error 9), I think something may be wrong with the adobe servers right now, though if it doesn't fix itself soon try this: link (https://www.entourageedge.com/support/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=197), it will allow you to skip the initial setup, which you can go back to later through the settings menu(you will want to calibrate your reader screen after doing this, you can do that through Settings->Display).

Filark
06-13-2011, 12:38 AM
I looked on the Adobe website to see if I could find a list of my registered devices (could not) to try to help Gremalkin with the same problem you are having, thinking it might be a question of too many registrations. Anyway, I looked up Code 9 while I was there and found something saying "try again in 24 hours." So I think Emusan is correct in thinking there may be something wrong with the Adobe servers at the moment.

Good luck, and welcome to MobileRead!! :D

ajc263
06-14-2011, 03:03 PM
Thanks Filark and emusan. It looks like the Adobe servers came back up sometime since last night and I was able to get through the set up and registration this morning on my PE. Everything seems to be working so far (knocks on wood). I was very happy to see that the reader side screen is functioning as it should on this new unit.

johnseeking
06-14-2011, 03:33 PM
I was very happy to see that the reader side screen is functioning as it should on this new unit.

What was yours doing? Mine has some slight calibration issues with the stylus, but nothing that has been a deal-breaker for me.

emusan
06-14-2011, 03:55 PM
Thanks Filark and emusan. It looks like the Adobe servers came back up sometime since last night and I was able to get through the set up and registration this morning on my PE. Everything seems to be working so far (knocks on wood). I was very happy to see that the reader side screen is functioning as it should on this new unit.

glad to hear it all worked out, I hope you enjoy your PE!

ajc263
06-15-2011, 03:54 PM
What was yours doing? Mine has some slight calibration issues with the stylus, but nothing that has been a deal-breaker for me.

The previous unit I was sent was unresponsive to the stylus (or any other pressure) in two 1-2 inch wide horizontal sections across the reader screen. It would display all ebook/document text properly, but it would not allow me to write notes, highlight text, select menu options, etc in those areas. I tried recalibrating and followed the tech support directions, but nothing would fix the issue and so I sent it back for a replacement unit. Luckily, Woot had one more in stock to send me.

For more details on the issue, if you're curious, you can search for my user name in the forum threads and it should come up.