View Full Version : Trying to write a simple tutorial

Pablo
04-21-2011, 01:41 PM
I am trying to write an ePub tutorial "for dummies", starting with HTML and CSS and later Sigil.

I am aware there are thousands of online HTML/CSS tutorials, so why yet another one? Well, because not everybody has the time or the patience needed to go through them, so I thought I could write some no-fuss quick and dirty guide covering the basics.

I just finished a draft covering HTML and CSS (in 7 pages, screenshots included) and would like some feedback to know if it is worth the effort.

Disclaimer No. 1: I am not an expert. I am still learning.
Disclaimer No. 2: English is not my mother language. So if you read something funny, please tell me so I can improve it.

Thanks

EDIT

I just uploaded a new draft with more on CSS and an introduction to ePub

EDIT

I just uploaded a new draft covering Sigil and basic book formatting

EDIT

Uploaded the final version.

EDIT (May 1st, 2012)

Uploaded version 2 covering Sigil 0.5.3

EDIT (March 9th, 2013)

Uploaded version 3 covering Sigil 0.7.1

EDIT (April 20th, 2013)

Uploaded version 3 in ePub format

EDIT (December 15th, 2013)

Removed older versions

Pablo

FatDog
04-21-2011, 05:54 PM
That is a nice little tutorial. Short examples with screen-shots to show the effects. Anybody could type in the examples.

Looking forward to the epub chapter and Sigil chapter.

Pablo
04-21-2011, 06:23 PM
That is a nice little tutorial. Short examples with screen-shots to show the effects. Anybody could type in the examples.

Looking forward to the epub chapter and Sigil chapter.

Thanks!!! I am waiting for some more feedback before adding more. I want to keep it as short and compact as possible.

Elfwreck
04-21-2011, 06:47 PM
I like this; I'm going to look over the CSS part very carefully. (I learned HTML mostly from toggling between wysiwyg & HTML editors in forums; they don't do CSS, so I'm absolutely lost in figuring it out.)

Pablo