View Full Version : Best practice: Update existing plug-in


theducks
03-05-2011, 12:16 PM
(It's Kiwidudes fault :p )

The sticky covers how to ADD or Remove.

What about 'Update' ?
Do we always have to Remove (previous), restart Calibre, Add (the update)?
Do we always have to remove the 'Tweaks' and or 'Menu customizations' before/after removing?

kiwidude
03-05-2011, 12:20 PM
Haha, sorry...

No don't bother with any of that - no need to uninstall etc.

Just go "Add" and restart Calibre. I'll add something to the sticky.

theducks
03-05-2011, 12:28 PM
Haha, sorry...

No don't bother with any of that - no need to uninstall etc.

Just go "Add" and restart Calibre. I'll add something to the sticky.

:thanks:

cybmole
03-07-2011, 08:19 AM
is that true for EVERY available plugin -i.e. always: to update just use ADD ?

kiwidude
03-07-2011, 08:45 AM
is that true for EVERY available plugin -i.e. always: to update just use ADD ?
Do you have a situation where that is not working for you? Certainly that has been my experience, and I have done a fair bit of plugin dabbling obviously.

The only scenario I can think to be a potential issue is when the developer starts changing some of the internal name attributes identifying the plugin, which could lead to some orphaning going on. Or they totally rename the plugin - like I have done a couple of times such as when the old add/remove user categories became combined into one.

However in that very unusual case it is up to the developer to advise of the uninstall step required first.

cybmole
03-07-2011, 11:27 AM
Do you have a situation where that is not working for you?

not at all - just seeking clarity, that you are able to speak for all developers / for all plug ins.