View Full Version : epub - DRM?

Murre
02-12-2011, 08:33 PM
I'm new to E-readers in the way that I never owned one.
Now I wanna start reading again but I wanna be able to take alot of books with me.

I found alot of epub books on the internet but I'm worried it won't work because of DRM.

I wanna be able to, whatever the epub is to be able to read it the device, is this possible?

After looking at some different devices the Nook seems like a nice choice, or the Sony.
Is it possible they will deny my reading epub that are sent via calibre if the have DRM protection?
The PocketBook 602 looks really nice too

wallcraft
02-12-2011, 09:28 PM
There are three DRM schemes for ePub. One is for Apple devices only. The other two are Adobe and B&N. Every dedicated reading device that supports ePub DRM supports Adobe DRM (this includes the Nook). All such dedicated reading devices have a license for B&N DRM, but most (Sony, PocketBook, etcetrera) have chosen not to support it for marketing reasons. So you can only read B&N DRM ePubs on a few devices, primarily those from B&N. In other words, the Nook supports the most DRMed formats.

Another option is to add 3rd party plugins to Calibre and strip the DRM on import to Calibre. That way you can even use a Kindle if you want, or buy from the Kindle Store and read on an ePub-based device. See Apprentice Alf's Blog for info about DRM issues.

Murre
02-12-2011, 10:04 PM
There are three DRM schemes for ePub. One is for Apple devices only. The other two are Adobe and B&N. Every dedicated reading device that supports ePub DRM supports Adobe DRM (this includes the Nook). All such dedicated reading devices have a license for B&N DRM, but most (Sony, PocketBook, etcetrera) have chosen not to support it for marketing reasons. So you can only read B&N DRM ePubs on a few devices, primarily those from B&N. In other words, the Nook supports the most DRMed formats.