View Full Version : No " or ' in this book!!!

emonti8384
12-11-2010, 11:54 PM
So, I bought this book (from Sony) and all of the quotation marks and apostrophe's are shown as ?. When I converted into lrf and started reading it nothing is there at all. For apostrophe's it just skips a space; let s. Can I/how do I fix this?

theducks
12-12-2010, 12:38 AM
So, I bought this book (from Sony) and all of the quotation marks and apostrophe's are shown as ?. When I converted into lrf and started reading it nothing is there at all. For apostrophe's it just skips a space; let s. Can I/how do I fix this?

Those are "Curly Quotes" and a slanted apostrophe (Possibly CP1252)
If the original document did not specify the code page used.
If you convert with Calibre, there is a place on the INPUT Conversion section
to type in a Code page to use. (there are hints in th Balloon help)

emonti8384
12-12-2010, 12:41 AM
Wait, I've never done this before, is there a way you can provide me step-by-step instructions?

emonti8384
12-12-2010, 12:50 AM
Okay, so go to Convert, Look and Feel, Input Charachter Enoding(?) and then what?

theducks
12-12-2010, 02:01 AM
Okay, so go to Convert, Look and Feel, Input Charachter Enoding(?) and then what?

Type in the Encoding to try. The hints give some examples, by CP1252 is a good choice. OOPS! The Linux version No longer has a CP list in the hint

The convert from the Original Source (top Left setting).
Look at the results,

emonti8384
12-12-2010, 11:58 AM
I dunno, I tried putting CP1252 in the Input Character Encoding and it didn't do anything. I don't know how to do this.

frabjous
12-12-2010, 12:52 PM
If you bought it from Sony, isn't the file DRMed? How can you convert it at all?

If by "creative means", did you check the original file you actually downloaded to see if it looks OK? Or is the problem only in the LRF?

emonti8384
12-12-2010, 01:04 PM